Yes?? When I Can!

It was meant to be a weekend of fun and Yes! at our house this weekend.  The boys have been doing so very well this summer.  They deserved a reward of some fun time.  And, I was just the mommy to give it to them!

We started off the weekend by sending my honey off to her soccer game.  Then we headed to the back yard.

Keegan did tricks on the jungle gym while Eli watched and verbally guided me through putting up our tent.
He’s wearing one sock here because there was a stray sock in the bottom of his sleeping bag and he insisted upon wearing it!  Love that kid!
The boys were so excited to get into the tent!  Keegan ran under me to climb in as soon as I was unzipping the screen.  Our head collided and I got a bloody nose.  Read that – mini break from fun while mommy tended to her wound!
With wounds tended to and everything right, we climbed into our tent. 
We had books galore to read to ourselves and to each other. 
We told ghost stories that turned into some of the funniest things I’ve ever heard my boys say.  They are really creative little beings!
Fridays are usually reserved for popcorn and movie night at our house – family time only!  Tonight was a no electronic night.  So my honey brought popcorn out to our tent and we watched for fireflies in place of a movie – it was WAY better!
And then came the lightening.  Not of the bug variety – the real deal.  The wind started to pick up a little.  My honey called us inside for the night due to pending thunderstorms.  We disassembled the tent with the promise of trying again on Saturday.
Saturday started out with playing outside and watching our favorite movie.  I had two very tired boys on my hands from being up so late watching for fireflies.  So, we all snuggled down for an afternoon nap.
After the nap we had the grueling Saturday afternoon errands to run.  But, we were all treated to ice cream for our great behavior!  And we got to have a little slip and slide fun upon returning home!
We stayed up late, had our popcorn and movie night (again!) and watched the Wizard of Oz.
The boys awoke on Sunday morning to donut holes (or dumplings as Keegan continues to refer to them!).  They never get something so crazy as donuts.  So on this crazy weekend I said why the hell not!
They got to watch whatever they wanted on tv so that we could get some much needed cleaning done.
We played outside a ton, went for bike/scooter rides and they didn’t have to leave the house at all!
So plans changed in the middle.  We adapted, we adjusted and we continued to say YES! whenever we could.  And in the end we got these faces:
And it was all worth it!!!
About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yes?? When I Can!

  1. The Henrys says:

    What a wonderful time you had! Great pics, but I love the last one. I agree, that it looks like it was worth it

  2. Tiffany says:

    Looks like the perfect YES day!!

Leave a Reply

