Me Time

My honey gets up before the sun every morning and heads off to work.  Seriously, she leaves the house before 5am everyday!  I don’t know how people do that.  No wonder I work for the government with 8-5 hours!

My boys play hard all day.  They go to bed by 8pm most nights. 

Because of my honey’s work hours, she usually joins the boys for her evening slumber not long after they have passed out.  Sometimes she gets tucked in right along with them.

That leaves a quiet house with no one to bother me except the yowling cat and snoring dog!!  Typically from 8:30 on our house is quiet!  It’s amazing!

I’m up until midnight most nights – I’m so much more of a night owl than I am a morning person!!

I look forward to this 3+ hours of quiet time each night.  It’s my me time.  I do what I want when I want.  I read, I blog, I facebook, I Wii, I vegetate on the couch and watch TV, I go for bike rides.  Whatever I do, it’s all about me. 

It changes my whole mood when a wrench gets thrown into my plans!

Tonight my dear Keegan is up with me.  He had a 1-1/2 hour nap today.  That means he won’t be tired until at least 9:30 and probably closer to 10pm.

So, instead of watching the Twilight movie I had planned for tonight I’m watching Wonder Pets.  Instead of reading my book I’m reading Pout Pout Fish and other such exciting books.  Instead of bike riding I’m laying on the couch eating chocolate covered cherries.

I’d like to be able to say that I don’t mind.  But, the truth is that I do.  This is the time of the day that I have to myself.  I love my boys more than anything.  I love my honey too.  But, I do cherish this time greatly.

So, tonight I will do my best to cherish and enjoy the one on one time that I have with Keegan.  It really is rare for the two of us to be alone together.  I also will remind myself how lucky I am to have the me time that I have!  I know how rare it is to not only get that time but to have so much of it!!

So, I ask…  What do you do during your me time?  How are you able to get it and how long does it last?  If you don’t know the answers then you need to work harder at getting some me time – we ALL need it!!!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Me Time

  1. The Henrys says:

    I know what you mean by not being too happy when you have to give up your "me time". I try to get some time after everyone goes to sleep. Sometimes Caleb will stay up late and I really miss my time when he does.

  2. ck says:

    I know EXACTLY how you feel. My "me" time is early in the morning from about 430-7am. And honestly, when someone is up with me (for whatever reason) it really throws things off for the rest of the day. I'm working on being more flexible about it, and sometimes I succeed, but I'm not sure how well I'd do if I had to trade in Twilight for Wonder Pets!

  3. Kristine says:

    I joke that I'm off the clock with the boys at 8pm. I expect them in bed unless they are sick or there is an emergency. But other than that they need to be asleep by 8pm to get their rest, and I need those few hours after to do my stuff. Mostly it is catching up on emails or blogging. Occasionally its working on stuff from my real job. And sometimes it is just vegging out watching tv. But when I don't get that time I feel it and it makes mommy a little grumpy.

  4. ttownsend says:

    I also love to veg and watch TV, blog, stare, whatever!! And I too get upset when someone interrupts it!!

Leave a Reply

