Friday Finale

You’ve Got A Friend

I work for a very large organization.  We house a total of 600 employees.  We work with and care for children, teens and adults with disabilities.  There are several departments within the agency.  I happen to work for the smallest one.  We house about 65 employees.  Our department is really split into two separate entities.  The portion that I work for houses about 40 of the 65 employees.  We are 1 man and 39 women and we are all incredibly close.  We are there for the good, the bad and the ugly.  No matter what we can count on each other.

This week fell into the ugly category. 

Two of my co-workers lost a good friend in the tornadoes that we had in our area last weekend.  They were devastated by the loss.  The amazing folks I work with rallied around them with hugs and prayers and good thoughts.

Another co-worker was dealing with something so incredibly horrendous.  She was involved in a car accident that took the life of a young child.  The accident was no one’s fault – really it was a fluke thing.  That doesn’t make the situation any easier.  Again the amazing folks I work with were there for her and for each other.  It could have been any of us…

I am reminded this week of how important our friendships are.  Of how different my life would be without those special people around me.  I am blessed to work with so many people who I am able to call my friends.  I am reminded this week that I can call on many of them at any time and I know they’ll be there for me. 

Today we had the opportunity to all be together for a department meeting.  While it was a day to work together, we also took it as a day to heal with each other.  There were some tears shed and some laughter shared.  And in the end we became more of a family than we were before. 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Finale

  1. I'm so sorry to hear that you've all been going through such horrendous things.

  2. ttownsend says:

    that is a rough week…thinking of you…glad you managed to find some !!! moments

Leave a Reply

