Cherishing the Little Things

I spend my days working with young children with Autism.  I have friends who have children with Autism.  Today I stopped to be thankful for my children.

I am thankful for the consistent eye contact that I get from my children.  I’m thankful for the fact that they want to play with me and want to snuggle with me.  I’m thankful that my children know that I am there.  I’m thankful that God granted me a son with SPD so that I may better understand the children I work with and so I could appreciate my son in new and different ways.  I am thankful that my children have understanding and language so that they may tell me what they want, need and all about their days.
Today I spent some time with a little girl who rarely made eye contact.  She was content to be alone and watch a ball bounce.  She went to her parents when she was upset but was not looking for hugs or kisses.  She made noises and hummed, but did not use words to communicate and did not follow directions.  She is a beautiful little girl and her parents love her dearly.  They are working very hard to help her advance.
Today reminded me of how little I’ve had to do to teach my children and how sometimes I don’t truly appreciate all that they are.  Today I take that moment to thank God for my amazing little boys.
To those parents who are reading and have children with Autism….
I truly admire you.  You have amazing children.  You love them, support them.  You deal with a society that doesn’t understand them.  You strive for more for them.  You don’t always get recognition in return – from anyone.  Today I recognize you for all of your struggles and all of your LOVE.  I hope someday to be as good a parent to my children as you are to your child(ren).   
About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cherishing the Little Things

  1. Tiffany says:

    Wonderfully said!

  2. Lovely post! and I agree wholeheartedly!

Leave a Reply

