Friday Finale

Lady Marmalade – for my Awesome Sister!!!

Itchy Gitchy Ya Ya Ya!!!!!

I love you Heidi and miss you more than anything.  As we approach the anniversary of your death I am remembering the good times.  There were so many.

I remember performing plays and singing and dancing on the hay wagons. 

I remember sharing a room with you for most of our young lives.  We had some of the best talks in the wee hours of the morning.

I remember countless visits between your apartment in Iowa and mine in Illinois.  Thank goodness for that old green bomber you drove!!!

I remember your dilemna at the toll booths when coming to Illinois to bring me Granny’s piano.  Only you could have wondered if you should go through the manual booth because you were driving a manual shift vehicle!

I remember you being by my side when my babies went to Heaven. 

I remember you being there for Eli as his Godmother and loving him with all your heart.  You always called him your baby before your baby.  Even to the very end.

I remember seeing the gleam in your eyes when your baby boy was born.  And the phone calls with the “mommy questions”.  You were a great mom!

I remember that day in your hospital room – a little over a week before you died – we laughed, we told stories, we talked.  It was the best day we’d spent together in ages.  It’s what I’ll always cherish.

I love you my dear baby sister.  Give my babies kisses for me.  I feel so fortunate that they have their Auntie Heidi to look after them. 

 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Finale

  1. Tiff says:

    What a beautiful post. I didn't realize how much you girls looked alike!!

Leave a Reply

