Moment of Truth

I can’t say I wasn’t warned.  Time and again my friends told me to beware.  It’s not that I didn’t believe them.  It’s just that… well… I didn’t WANT to believe them!  I didn’t want to believe that giving birth to 4 children would be my downfall.  But….. it was.

Today we finished putting together the trampoline that the boys got for Christmas.  The one that’s been sitting in the garage for almost 3 months.  The one that the boys started begging for after they got to go sledding 1 time.  They were ready for warmth and the sensation of bouncing.  Today was the day!

We started putting it together yesterday.  Like a fool, I didn’t start until mid-afternoon.  By the time I finished with the trampoline itself it was 7pm and my kids were WAY overdue for dinner.  So, we each took a quick turn jumping just because and then we went out to grab a quick (Burger King) dinner.  I promised that we would finish the enclosure part today so that they could jump as long as they wanted.

Again I waited until mid-afternoon to start this crazy project!  I guess it’s becoming painfully clear that mornings are not my strong suit!  My honey and I got the enclosure part put up in about an hour though.  The boys spent that entire time asking if we were done yet.  They were so incredibly excited they could barely hold it all in!  When it was finally done we unzipped the enclosure and let them in.

They jumped together for a few minutes then just started running around the circle after each other.  I decided to climb in and challenge them some so that they’d jump some energy out.  I started by jumping a little and letting them bounce.  They were laughing so hard they couldn’t even sit up!  Then I sat down and challenged them to jump until my butt flew off the trampoline.  Again they were laughing hysterically but it worked!  Then they wanted to be bounced again.  This, of course, is the part of the story where I run into trouble.

Those of you who are moms that experienced a vaginal delivery probably know where I’m headed with this.  Nothing in that area of your body ever works quite the same again.  Including the ability to hold your bladder.  I jumped with the boys for a minute or two more before I realized that sensation was there.  It was stop jumping and get out now or explain to my boys why mommy had to change her pants.  Of course my honey was standing outside the enclosure rolling with laughter because she knew. 

I did make it out and back to the house, but not before I had to sneeze.  Amazingly I made it through even that without much more than a drip escaping.  However I have posted not only child rules for the trampoline, but also those for the “responsible” adults.  “Please use the bathroom before entering this trampoline – the pants you save just might be your own!”

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moment of Truth

  1. The Henrys says:

    I'm glad that you made it into the house!!

  2. The Henrys says:

    Hi, I tagged you for an award over on my blog!

Leave a Reply

