It’s All About the Incentive!

Awhile back my buddy over at Elastamom’s Excerpts posted about “Daddy Dollars”.  If you haven’t checked her out before or in awhile, head on over!!!

Anyway, she uses these dollars to promote good behavior in her kids.  I decided to borrow the idea and introduce it in my house.  You start with this website, add your own picture and print.  Then the chore is the follow through.

We decided about a month ago that we were going to introduce “Doggy Dollars” in our house using a picture of our dog, Sage.  Problem…  The printer was not working correctly.  I’ve been putting off buying a new one for way too long now.  Fortunately we caught a good sale at Best Buy a couple of weeks ago.  This past weekend, during a break from my cleaning frenzy, I printed the dollars and cut them out.

We sat down with the boys and made an agreed upon list for each of them that would involve earning the dollars.  They then can use those dollars to “purchase” fun things like playing the Wii, going to playland, or a list of other fun things that we decided upon.  We introduced the concept Sunday night and reminded them on Monday that the clock was now ticking.

Yesterday was not such a great day behavior wise.  Eli kicked in the screen in the kitchen window – he was upset because he didn’t get to go out to play.  Keegan decided to torture the cat for much of the day.  They didn’t follow the list of “rules/chores” that they were supposed to.  They got no Doggy Dollars for Monday.  They begged to play the Wii after dinner.  So, we discussed how you get to play the Wii again. 

I’m happy to report that today it clicked!  They did not earn all possible dollars for the day but they each earned some.  We reminded them of how many dollars they could earn each day and what they could “purchase” with them.  We again reviewed the list of rules/chores with them. 

It’s our hope that we can get to that point where they stop complaining as much about doing those things expected of them because they will understand that something positive will come out of it.  Quite frankly, I’m tired of always being negative.  It’s time to look at the brighter side of things!  So, thanks again Tiff for your amazing idea.  It’s starting to make our time with our boys just a little bit sunnier!!!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s All About the Incentive!

  1. The Henrys says:

    I'm so glad this is working for your boys! It is a great idea, and I might have to use it too. Caleb really likes to argue about doing his chores and it does get tiring!

Leave a Reply

