Being a Part of the Change

Once a year the organization that I work for shuts down and puts all 600 of us in a room together to learn something.  Today was that day. 

We had the usual state of the organization from the Superintendent.  Then the various service awards.  Finally the key note speaker.  A really great guy with a fabulous message.  His name is Jeff Tobe.

The message he had was one that was truly inspiring in more than just my work life.  He talked about looking toward the future and not hanging onto the review mirror.  To not live life doing things a certain way because that’s how it has always been done.  To think outside the box and be the proponent of change.

I spent the afternoon learning about dealing with difficult people.  What that boiled down to was that I can change no one but myself.  I need to be able to either manage the situation or cope with it.  Again, something that fits in both my work and home situation. 

So for today I am inspired to try to turn some things around at home.  To make the experiences with my boys more positive by not holding onto the past.  And, thinking outside the box to help move them, and me, forward. 

Here is a poem that Jeff shared with us today that sums it all up.  I hope you all encourage your children to “Color Outside the Lines”.

COLORING!
Coloring outside the Lines is scary business.
Some days, I don’t have the courage for it at all.
On my big, bold days though,
I like to let my red crayon just streak across the lines
Out there with my purple…
In perfect freedom,
NO LINES!
Coloring outside the Lines is lonely too!
I’m the only one who doesn’t get a gold star on my paper.
The teacher frowns.
The kids call me weird or dumb or stupid.
Why don’t they see that I’m not behind them,
I’m actually out in front,
Running free…OUTSIDE THE LINES!
It would be nice to have a friend who would
color outside the lines sometimes, too.
WOULD YOU?
Anonymous
About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Being a Part of the Change

  1. The Henrys says:

    Nice poem! I love the line "Why don't they see that I'm not behind them, I'm actually out in front running free" This is so true, and I love to think of my daughter out in front, running free.

  2. Jeff Tobe says:

    Heather, you are so kind and thanks so much for sharing the poem that my Dad gave to me when I was 10 years old. I also really appreciate what you took from my presentation about looking to the future. Two amazing boys! Congrats and appreciate their creativity.Jeff Tobewww.JeffTobe.com

  3. ck says:

    "…manage the situation or cope with it." I needed that today. Thank you.Okay. Now I'll stop, breathe, and head back into the situation!

Leave a Reply

