Cleaning Frenzy Discoveries

I sent my family out of town so I could deal with my need to massively clean my house.  I can get quite OCD when I’m cleaning so it’s best when others aren’t around me.

It was my main goal to find my bedroom.  For some strange reason my bedroom seems to be the catchall for anything that doesn’t have a permanent spot, or for anything that has been taken away from the boys.  About once a year I have to totally clean sweep my bedroom so that I can stand to sleep in there again.  I’m happy to state that I accomplished my task.  In the process I learned somethings.

I learned that dust bunnies under beds turn into dust puppies.

I learned that I collect way too much crap and need to just throw stuff out – more than once a year.

I learned that I need to stop holding onto those picture frames I like waiting for the right picture – there are so many pictures that I just need to suck it up and choose one.  After all, I can always change it later!

I learned that becoming a mom has given me an insane sense for all things small:

I found these two items as I was cleaning my bedroom.  For size purposes, the item on the left can fit on the top of my pinky finger.  Anyone cleaning my house would have found these two items and tossed them.  As a mommy, I knew the value of them.  It pained me slightly to realize that I can find tiny items like this and know that the item on the left is a very tiny hat belonging to the tiny head of Elizabeth Swan from Pirates of the Carribean.  The item on the right is an arm belonging to a Lego Star Wars droid.
And so, in the end, I also learned that I can lose a stack of pictures, my keys, my cell phone (all of which I did misplace at one time or another this weekend) and find it impossible to locate them.  And yet, in the same house, Elizabeth Swan can find her hat and the Droid can be pieced back together. 
Where’s the justice???
About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cleaning Frenzy Discoveries

  1. TKW says:

    Please, please come get OCD on my house!!And yes, isn't it amazing how all that little crap from kiddie toys gets scattered EVERYWHERE!

  2. Tsquared417 says:

    I always find tiny little lego swords and it makes me nutso!!

Leave a Reply

