Growing Up…

Who knew that being 5 meant that you were a big boy and that now you had to do big boy things!

Eli came to me tonight and told me he’s decided that he’s now big enough to make his own breakfast.  We spent a long time talking about what kinds of things he can make with no help (cereal) and things that he can make with adult supervision (toaster waffles, microwave sausage).

We also spent some time talking about how I came to be such a good cook.  Did I ask my mom if I could make my breakfast when I was a big girl?  I couldn’t answer any of those questions.  There’s a lot of story that goes with why, but I couldn’t really tell him how I learned any of this.  I had to make my own breakfast growing up – there was no one else to do it.  I had to cook for my brother and sister – there was often no one else to do it.  I’m not sure I was ever really taught, I just started to do it.  And, somewhere along the way, I really began to enjoy it. 

So, we’ve made our recipes for him to use and he’s anxious to get on his way.  I believe that tomorrow will involve toaster waffles, with adult supervision of course.  I’m certain they’ll be delicious – Eli is a perfectionist at everything! 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

