Change in Plans

I had a post all prepared in my head for tonight.  It was a great one based on lessons taught and learned.  I’m sure I’ll get around to posting it.  But, not today.  Not after the day that I was presented with.  Today brought with it reminders of lessons already learned.

I spend my days on this blog writing about my family, myself and some of the craziness that we go through daily.  I know that I am blessed with my unique family and I truly love them all.  Today I was reminded of just how much I need to cherish them. 

Today I went to work.  I arrived in time for a staff meeting – typical Monday.  During the staff meeting my Blackberry buzzed.  Another email.  Something made me open it.  I don’t usually do that, but my gut told me to.  It was an email about a family that I work with.

I was introduced to a most beautiful baby girl in December.  At the same time I also met the most heroic mother.  Her baby girl was going on 3 months old and had only been home from the hospital for a combined 2 weeks over the course of that 3 months.  The doctors were bombarding mom with terms like “DNR” and “multi-organ failure”.  This mom cried but looked me in the eye and said that she wanted every possible opportunity for her daughter.  We talked at length about what that meant.  We also talked about how sometimes the best thing we can do for our children is to say goodbye to them. 

Today I got an email that stated that Hospice was called in for this sweet little baby.  The outlook is grim.  The ever heroic mother is optimistic.  I hope for her sake that the future becomes brighter for her baby girl.  I fear that time is fading for bonding between mother and daughter.  My heart aches for both of them – for the entire family. 

As you tuck in your kids tonight or say goodnight to the ones you love, take the time to give that extra hug and kiss.  To cherish what we have.  We never know when it will be taken away from us. 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

