Friday Finale

Friday Finale today is devoted to Eli.  I decided that since I told the stories of 3 of my 5 kiddos that I should tell them all.  So, today is King of the Bongo in honor of my little guy:)

After we lost the triplets we were certainly devastated.  But we decided that we still wanted kids.  Being in a relationship with another woman meant that we could decide between us who would carry.  My honey really wanted to carry our next child and I wasn’t ready to go through the experience again.  So, it was easily decided.  She would try for our next kiddo.

When it was confirmed that she was pregnant, we had a scare.  She started spotting.  The doctor’s office basically told her that if she was having a miscarriage there was nothing they could do.  Of course this was going into the weekend so we had to just wait it out. 

Fortunately everything stopped and the next appointment showed one amazing beating heartbeat.  The pregnancy went on status quo until about 24 weeks when she was diagnosed with gestational diabetes.  No biggie.  Everything was mainly controlled by diet and the occasional medication.  Our baby was growing as scheduled and we’d made it past the gestational age that the triplets made it to.  It was a great time.

Then things changed.  She started to have contractions.  It was about 28 weeks.  We were again scared.  She was able to be put on medication but was put on bed rest at 30 weeks.  We were definitely going through deja vu but this time we were in a much better place.

Fortunately things calmed down and she just remained at home, bored.  Bored is good!  At 34 weeks we went for a regular check up with the doctor.  Our baby’s amniotic fluid was low.  The doctor checked her and her water had been leaking.  It was time to go to the hospital to deliver our baby. 

We went home and grabbed our things.  Fortunately because we were so unprepared for the triplets, we were incredibly prepared for our hospital trip very early on.  So, we got to the hospital quickly and the medication was started to induce labor. 

Labor for her was very painful and the nurses had to continually monitor the medication for inducing labor as well as her sugar levels.  She was progressing rather slowly so they wouldn’t order an epidural.  Finally we made the doctors and nurses realizing that the monitors weren’t reading the contractions correctly and that she really was moving along faster than anticipated.  They FINALLY called for the epidural.

It seemed like forever before the anesthiologist showed up.  He had her sit up in the bed and asked me to stabalize her.  When she sat up she said that she felt like she was sitting on his head.  Her comment was dismissed.  The doctor literally dug into her back for many minutes trying to get the epidural in.  Finally they decided to give up.  She continued to say that she felt like the baby was coming out.  The nurses finally went to get a doctor.

The resident came in and decided to check her.  He got his fingers in to not even the first knuckle and said “oh, the head is right there!”  Apparently he was coming out and nobody believed her.  It was time to push and so the NICU team was quickly called, just in case.  The resident called for the doctor on call but there was no time to wait for anyone. 

She started to push and at 12:44am on October 7, 2004 our little boy was born weighing 5lbs 8oz.  He was rushed to the incubater with the NICU team and the doctor on call arrived just in time to deliver the placenta and stitch her up.  The placenta apparently had an extra piece to it.  It was deduced that Eli had been a twin and that was what she miscarried in the very beginning.

I rushed over to his side while the NICU team was doing their thing.  They said I could touch him and talk to him – something I didn’t get to do with the triplets until they were in their final moments.  He looked up at me.  I kept asking if everything was ok – if he was going to be alright.  Our NICU team was made up of several people that we had encountered with the triplets so I was familiar with them and they were familiar with our previous experiences.  They smiled at me, wrapped him in about 3 warmed blankets and handed him to me so that I could hold him and take him to her to see.  He was breathing on his own, he was healthy.

The worst thing (and it wasn’t bad) for him was that his sugar was messed up so he had to eat when he was only about an hour old.  I got to give my baby a bottle for the first time.  It was the most precious thing I’ve ever endured. 

He left the hospital with us and the rest is history – and the future!  The song I chose for today was Eli’s favorite song when he was just a few months old.  He loved to listen to this song.  He would smile and laugh everytime it came on.  As he got older he would dance to it.  Now the song is on a playlist on our mp3 player because he loves it still.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

