Full Head = Heavy Heart

No one does well when they have a lot on their mind.  I tend to get moody, cranky – just not myself.  I’ve been this way for a LONG time.  Over a year in fact.

I can’t/won’t go into the details.  They are not appropriate for this particular blog.  What I will say is that I am constantly reminded of the value of friendship.  I have met the most amazing people in my life – many of them that continue to be there for me to this day.

This weekend I turned to a friend that I haven’t talked to in many years – since college really.  We lost touch and found each other on Facebook of all places.  We have gotten reacquainted there.  Anyway, I vented to her all that I have been going through over the past year and a half.  It’s been a lot.  Amazingly she was in a similar predicament.  We were able to talk each other through. 

The weight that was lifted off my shoulders was immediate and amazing!  I didn’t realize all that I had been holding onto!  I had a clear head for the first time since I don’t know when!  I was able to step back, look at where I am and where I want to go.  I knew how to proceed.  My friend offered advice but amazingly I knew what I needed to do even before she said it.  It was all so clear.

The other nice thing about getting this weight off my shoulder is that I found the patience I needed and have been lacking.  I was able to truly enjoy my children for the first time in awhile.  The little things were not as annoying as they have been.  We played, had fun and enjoyed each other.

I am the person that takes care of other people.  Friends come to me for advice and assistance.  Even my job is all about helping others.  I love being the person that people come to.  I like knowing that I can help the people that I care about.  Unfortunately, I often forget to take care of myself.  This weekend I was reminded of how much my emotions and issues affect my daily life. 

I vow to go to my friends when there is something on my mind.  I will seek out my friends for comfort, encouragement, really whatever is needed.  Because, in the end, there is really nothing if you don’t have friends!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Full Head = Heavy Heart

  1. Tsquared417 says:

    I am so glad you feel the weight off your shoulders. I'm glad you reconnected with a friend! You are a wonderful friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

