going, going, GONE!!!!

It has been a very busy weekend filled with lots of fun and ACTIVITY!  When you have a sensory seeking child, life always includes a lot of activity.  Usually that means that I must run him, jump him, spin him – in general wear myself out so that he gets enough activity in his day to be able to calm himself enough to relax and have some control over his little body.  Unfortunately there doesn’t always seem to be time to meet his needs and mine (the grocery shopping, the laundry, the cleaning, etc…).  This weekend was different:)

Saturday we did run errands – can’t help it!  But we were looking for stuff for our soon to arrive Wii!  So, the boys were into it.  Saturday night we took the boys to their first ever hockey game.  It was a ton of fun and very overwhelming to a sensory kiddo.  So, Saturday wore him out because he was too overwhelemed to get too hyped up.

Sunday brought more errands – fun ones though because we had to go to Build-A-Bear to make a birthday present.  Then we went to the birthday party at Sylvania Playland.  It was a blast!  For anyone living in the Toledo area – if you haven’t been you really should go!!!!  It’s a little kid’s HEAVEN!  They run, climb, swing, slide, bounce – get all the wiggles out – and you get to stand and watch!  There isn’t much better way to get that excess energy out! 

So far my boys have not only slept all night for 2 nights in a row, they have also slept in past 7am:)  Unheard of in my house! 

So, today I took advantage of a free day off.  I took them sledding for over an hour and encouraged Eli to try to pull Keegan up the hill.  Heavy work!  And, Eli has therapy this afternoon!  He should be all worn out again tonight:) 

I’m so looking forward to the Wii.  We are hunting around for all of the games that will keep him moving so that he can be calm and focus his energy on more positive things.  For now, we’ll keep working him (and ourselves) into a state of submission! 

Happy Winter all!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

