Friday Finale

First I must apologize for being so bitchy yesterday. It was a bit of a day. My friend that I bitch to wasn’t there for me yesterday. My friend was laying in bed with the stomach flu. My friend I will forgive…. just this once;)

I needed to vent yesterday to prepare myself for today’s meeting with Eli’s teacher and the school psychologist. You may remember back to when I wrote about social stories.  Today was the big meeting to determine what, if anything, will be put into place for Eli’s transition to Kindergarten.  I went into the meeting with fists up ready to fight.  I was cranky yesterday because I was preparing my attitude for today. 

We spent a lot of time talking about the interventions that have been put into place.  The school psychologist attempted to convince me that Eli’s teacher wasn’t doing anything “special” for him – just helping to make his day to by better.  Amazingly the more we talked the more she realized how many things really are in place for him.  We discussed at length that he will be moving from a class of 9 with two teachers to a class of 25 with one teacher.  He will be going from a 2-1/2 hour day to a 6 hour day.  All of the people (kids included) that he has grown to love and trust over the past 2 years will be gone.  EVERYTHING will be brand new.  Yep, I’m an overprotective mom and yep, I worry constantly about my children.  But, something needs to be done for this poor little boy.

In the end the decision was made to put us in contact with the intervention team at Eli’s new school.  Prior to the end of this school year there will be an intervention plan put into place (that’s one step below a 504 for those of you who get IDEA).  And, I must say, that I walked out of the meeting feeling a lot better.  Before Eli transitions to Kindergarten I will be armed with names and phone numbers of the school psychologist at his new school along with the intervention team.  I will be requesting a meeting prior to school starting in August and another meeting after school has been in session for about 6 weeks.  I will be a thorn in the elementary school’s side to make sure that Eli gets everything that he needs to succeed in school.  And, if necessary, I will push the proper buttons to make a 504 or IEP happen.

So for today’s Friday Finale I have decided to honor what I know is happening for Eli.  God is watching and is making sure that he is being taken care of.  I love the song “His Eye is on the Sparrow” from the movie Sister Act 2 and it speaks to what I’m feeling for Eli this week.  Lauren Hill is amazing on this song for those that have only ever heard her rap! 

Enjoy this song this week and know that God is watching out for all of us.  We may not always get what we want, but we will always get what we need!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

