Socially Challenged

The school dilemna begins again.  Last fall we had Eli tested for eligibility for special education services.  He has a sensory processing disorder (SPD) and social delays.  His teacher was on board.  His occupational therapist was on board.  The testing was completed and the day of the meeting arrived. 

All of the people in the room raved about his intelligence.  He’s such a bright little boy they said.  Yes he’s got some needs, but they’re all being met right now.  We’d hate to see a boy that bright be put on an IEP.  And on it went…..

Bottom line – he wasn’t eligible for services.  While I disagreed with their findings, I signed the report anyway and moved forward.  I knew his teacher would continue to do anything that he needed.  Then she introduced social stories to him yesterday.

I was excited at first to hear that she had introduced social stories.  I hoped that this might be the answer to some of his needs.  Then I thought about it some more.  Eli attends therapy 1x/week – often in a group setting.  He works on mainting focus, following rules, cooperating with other children and a variety of sensory based needs.  Typical children don’t have to go to therapy.  We have a basement devoted to trampolines, spinning swings, spandex swings, cocoon swings, etc. all for Eli’s benefit.  Typical children don’t need these items on a daily basis.  Now he has social stories in his class.  They are working but typical children don’t need these either.  So, I took that giant leap….

I emailed the school psychologist today and called Eli’s teacher to let her know that I was opening this issue back up.  My 5 year old son is going to Kindergarten in the fall – full day Kindergarten.  He has difficulty holding it together during a 2-1/2 hours day of preschool.  How’s he going to handle Kindergarten.  He has a teacher that puts forth 150% of her effort to make sure that he succeeds.  No one can guarantee me that he will have a Kindergarten teacher that will do the same.  I need a safety net for him that will assure that he will have every opportunity to be successful.

I talked at length with the school psychologist on the phone today.  She is willing to revisit the concerns but seemed hesitant to do so.  But, smart me, put the request in writing so she has no choice.  We are meeting in 2 weeks to discuss what to do next.

Eli is very intelligent.  He is 5 years old.  He’s beginning to read/spell some simple words.  He’s doing simple addition (without counting on his fingers I might add).  He asks questions about everything and doesn’t forget a word of what he hears.

Eli has a lot of challenges.  He doesn’t do well in new settings.  He has difficulty following rules.  He cannot control his body so he often hurts others unintentionally.  He does not cooperate with other children unless they are following his rules and he gets to win every time.  He cannot function after a 2-1/2 hour day of preschool so he goes into “shut down/zone out” mode after school until dinner time.

I need to know that this very intelligent boy will be able to get all of the assistance that he needs to do all of the big things his life has in store for him.  I need to know that he will be protected and be given the opportunity to be the boy that I know he can be.  I will push, I will shove, I will be the best mom that I can be to give him all that he needs.  Good will prevail, because it has to….

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Socially Challenged

  1. Tsquared417 says:

    I didn't know you had a blog!!!! YEAH!!! You fight for him, Momma!!!

Leave a Reply

