Speak Softly…..

For anyone with a child with a Sensory Processing Disorder (SPD) you know that life is often very unpredictable.  My child is not in control of himself which means that I have no control over how our days go. 

Eli has a SPD that affects him in all sorts of crazy ways.  He needs weighted blankets to fall asleep every night.  He has a very high activity level that is very difficult to bring down.  He cannot sit still unless he zones out.  He gets hyped up very easily and then his voice volume raises to an insane level.

This weekend was a rather difficult one for our family.  Eli was at top activity level.  With two boys in the house, Eli’s activity eventually affects Keegan.  We had to keep the two of them separated for the better part of the weekend.  And, when we did let them play together, we “banished” them to the basement.  It’s the place in the house where it is safe for Eli to be wild, where he has the tools to help calm himself down.  It didn’t work……

Eli spent the better part of the weekend running wild and yelling everything that he said.  No matter what we did, he couldn’t bring it down.  In retrospect, it would have been wise to take them to the local indoor play place.  It certainly would have helped.  But, that’s neither here nor there now.  Whenever he came upstairs I followed him around telling him over and over to quiet his voice down.  I was a broken record.  Did it help? Absolutely not.  If anything, it only added to the volume and frustration.

Picture this…..  For 2 solid days….  Every word that come’s out of my child’s mouth is at TOP VOLUME…  Spoken as if I’m in a completely different part of the house on a completely different floor…  When really, I’m sitting 2 feet away from him…  For a few moments I can handle it, can even get through the first few hours…  The first half day goes by and I’m beginning to shout…  This of course makes him speak more loudly…  It escalates like this until I finally realize the cycle we’re in…  I begin to speak more quietly…  This lowers the volume a tad, but continues to maintain that ever-so-annoying level…  That nails on the chalkboard level…  The one that makes me want to pull out all of my hair… 

By the time he laid his precious little head down on the pillow tonight I was exhausted.  My nerves were completely shattered.  I took a deep breath as I walked out of his room, thankful that his evening had come to an end and I was finally able to have some quiet in my home.

I love my son more than anything.  I am thankful everyday that God blessed us with him.  Weekends like these make me wonder if I can do it all over again tomorrow.  Thank goodness I have the love and support of my family, AND the most awesome therapist in the world for my son:)

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Speak Softly…..

  1. Hartley says:

    I hear you!I have three boys, my oldest has SPD and I can promise you that my weekends look (sound!) the same. LOLHang in there–you are not alone. SPD can really wear you out, but it looks like your little guy is pretty young and things do get better with age. Not helpful today, huh? :)Thanks for sharing–always good to find another SPD mom. Hartleywww.hartleysboys.com

Leave a Reply

