Life’s little lessons

So I scheduled a doctor’s appointment a couple of months ago.  My annual dermatology checkup.  They gave me a date, there was nothing in my January calendar so I accepted it.  Last week I realized that the appointment was today…. Martin Luther King day.  I am off of work so that worked out well.  I have no one to watch my kids, so that didn’t work out as well.

I contemplated canceling the appointment.  Really seriously thought about it.  Then I decided it would be a good lesson for them.  Eli is always saying that he is embarassed at the doctor because he has to strip down to his underwear.  I always tell him that mommy has to do that at the doctor too, but I don’t think he believed me.  Today he saw mommy stip down to her underwear at the doctor’s office.

At first, I think he was embarassed for me – thanks kid!  Then he realized that they gave me a “fancy dress” to cover up with.  He is now planning to ask his doctor for one at his next appointment. 

Being the mommy that I am, I went to the office prepared.  I had Leapsters for both boys and their favorite games.  I brought coloring books and crayons.  I even tagged along mp3 players for their listening pleasure.  They behaved like little angels.  They even asked the doctor about a thousand questions about what she was doing.  She was a sucker for their cute little faces – so she gave them suckers as we left;)

We were on a roll so I took them to the eye doctor to get Eli’s glasses adjusted and to get a copy of his prescription to order glasses elsewhere.  The boys played so nicely there and waited so very patiently for the tech to finish adjusting his glasses.  I was beginning to wonder who had replaced my boys with angels in the middle of the night.  And then…..

I took it one step farther and went to the optical center near our house to get Eli another spare pair of glasses.  There was a pair of Spiderman frames that Keegan was determined to have – though he doesn’t wear glasses.  There was a fountain window that both boys were intrigued by and it was just begging to have little fingers playing in it.  I turned my back for a moment and both boys were behind the checkout counter practically begging for toys, treats, etc.  It was insane!!!!!!!

Note to self – third time is always a charm for good or for bad!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

