The Window of Time

What a lovely weekend:)

We sledded for the first time all winter!  We napped together afterward!  We baked brownies and ate them with ice cream after dinner!  All this happened on Saturday!!!!!

Sunday was much more lazy and laid back.  The Legos and Playmobil made their way magically up the stairs and into the confines of my living room.  At first I was slightly annoyed since I made a point of cleaning out my living room at the end of last week so that my poor little feet could be free of Lego imprints.  However, it was not a battle I was willing to pick today. 

It worked to my advantage when Eli and Keegan actually began to play together.  Eli was willing sharing his Legos and the boys were doing some GREAT pretending!  It was amazing to sit back and watch/listen to them play!  The ideas were flowing.  They weren’t telling each other what to do.  They were each coming up with their own ideas and expanding on each others ideas.  It was truly a thing of beauty!  They played like this for what seemed like an eternity but turned out to be 28 minutes.  And then….

Eli told Keegan what to do, Keegan refused.  They bickered about how to play for a moment and then each took his own Legos to a different corner of the room and played nicely alone for 2 more minutes.  And then…

Eli remembered that all of the Legos are his and demanded that Keegan give them back.  Keegan did, but only after taking apart all of the pieces I so painstakingly put together only a week ago.  It was then that I realized that the corner of the living room that I put back together last week looked like the Lego tornado all over again.

Boys were split up and made to play alone for an undetermined amount of time.  Then came the idea to bring up the Playmobil toys and the Pirates of the Carribean ships. 

Again the playing together ensued.  Again everything was blissful – brothers playing together, laughing and having so much fun.  And again, as if on cue, 28 minutes passed and the bickering over how to play with the Playmobil toys began. 

This time Keegan recalled that the toys in question belonged to him.  Only instead of demanding them back he disassembled the Pirates of the Carribean ships that I so painstakingly put back together last weekend.

The moral of the story here is that I need to set a timer for 25 minutes and then insist that all toys be cleaned up.  Encourage the brothers to move to separate rooms to do their own thing for a bit.  Then start it all over again.  And will this happen?  I’m guessing not!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

