When bad things happen to good people

I’ve never complained about the hand I was dealt in life.  It hasn’t always been easy and it hasn’t always been good.  But, I’ve chosen to live and learn and move on.  It’s what makes me who I am.

I was reading the following to my youngest son before bed:

All about a boy who wants to get to a land where they don’t have any problems, or at least very few.  Only, when he gets there, the door is locked and there is a strange creature that keeps pushing the key out of the door so no one can get in.  They boys decides to go back to his home and fight his battles.  They are a part of him.
Just like me, my history is a part of me.
I had lunch with a very good friend today.  We talked about a lot of things.  We talked about our friendship and all of the changes we’ve had over the past year.  My friend stated that there were regrets – that someone else had said things to threaten our friendship.  It was wished that had never happened.
I thought about the ordeal for a moment.  I had no choice but to comment the following…..  “the bad things in life are what build our character.  the person that said things to make us question each other also made us realize that our friendship is true, that we trust each other and believe in each other.  we know who we are because the bad things happen to make us take a closer look.”
So, while there are days I wish I could get into Solla Sollew, I’m glad that I’m here with my friends and family.  Together we can endure everything, even the most very bad of things. 
About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in family; friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

