Moonpowder

Eli got this great book for his birthday.  He enjoys reading it for several reasons.  The main reason is because the main character of the book is named Eli.  The other reasons revolve around the fact that the book is about sleep and dreams. 

Eli in the book is a great “fixer”.  He fixes things for his mother because his father is off to war.  He fixes everything except his ability to sleep.  He has nightmares because the Moonpowder machine is broken.  The moon takes him to the factory where he attempts to fix the machine.  It doesn’t work but Eli falls asleep anyway and has the sweetest dreams thus fixing the machine anyway:) 

In a way, I feel like Eli.  I’m constantly fixing things for other people.  Not only my family but my friends as well.  It’s not a chore, it’s a gift.  I’m the friend that always listens.  The person that often says just the right thing.  And now, like Eli, I’m having my own nightmares and sleepless nights.  My moonpowder machine is broken.

My person that always fixed things, that always made things right again is now my angel.  I love my family with all my heart, but my sister was my person.  You know, the one you turn to for everything.  I have picked up the phone so many times to tell her something funny, to get her advice, to hear her voice.  She’s not there.  I know she’s with me.  Everyone tells me she’s here.  For now, my pain still runs to deep to feel her presence. 

I have all of these thoughts, all of these things that I need to say to her.  Not unfinished business things (we said everything we needed to say before she died).  Just those things that you share with your bestie because they are your bestie. 

I’m hoping tonight when I lay down my head that Mr. Moon takes my hand to the moonpowder factory.  I’d gladly work to fix that machine so that my dreams can be sweet again and I can have those much wanted conversations with my bestie.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

