A Mind can be a Terrible Thing…..

As the year comes to a close I take the opportunity to ponder all that has happened in the past year.  I attempt to learn from it and make the next year even better.  I do so more this year because of the loss of my sister.  I’ve been reminded how short life really can be and I want to be sure that I’m living every minute. 

My issue with all of this is that my pondering seems to happen mostly at night.  I suspect that this is because my house is quiet and I’m finally free to think about my own thoughts instead of the daily thoughts of “what’s for dinner” and the like.  Last night my thoughts entered into my head about the time I laid my head on the pillow.  Ordinarily I can ponder for a few minutes and drift off to dreamland.  Last night my thoughts took control for over 2 hours!  So my intentions to go to bed early to get some extra rest after being sick were thrown right out the window.

The plus of this is that I really did get through a lot.  I answered questions that I had about the path my life is taking.  I carefully cataloged the year that has passed.  I looked forward to the year to come.

So as we say goodbye to 2009 and welcome not only a new year but a new decade I hope that you all are looking forward to it to.  I am looking forward to more time with family and friends.  After all, that’s what life is all about!

 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

