The necklace

A few weeks before Christmas the boys were anxiously putting together their lists for Santa.  Eli wanted lots of Legos, lots of nice clothes and Nutcrackers.  Keegan wanted a Batman shooter and a Daphne necklace. 

All of these are easy, right???  WRONG!  We watched various Scooby-Doo movies and cartoons to find out what kind of a necklace Daphne wore.  The best we could come up with was that Daphne wore a green scarf in the old episodes.  When we asked Keegan about the green scarf he gave us that look that told us we were crazy and politely said “no”.  Finally we asked him what movie he saw Daphne wearing the necklace in.  He laughed and said “no movie mommy, it was in my dream!”  Now how’s Santa supposed to find that???

A friend suggested that we try having him draw a picture of the necklace.  He’s only 3, but we gave it a shot.  What he drew were circles with spikes coming out of them.  Now we’re really in trouble!  I started calling my friends that do beading and begging them to help me make a necklace.  I wasn’t even sure what it should really look like.  The verbal description Keegan gave was that it was white with circles.

We went out for dinner without children one night and did some last minute shopping afterward.  We wen to Kohls – God LOVE Kohls!!!!!  We looked through all of the jewelry that they had.  Then a beacon of light shone upon this glorious necklace!!!!!

Now, this may not look like much, and it’s certainly something I would NEVER buy, but……  A Daphne necklace it is:)  I love that Kohls has great clearance and sends us 30% off coupons!!!  Crazy to think that someone would pay $19.00 for this!!!!!  It would have been worth it though. 
Of course, the best laid plans…  Keegan opened the necklace and got all excited!  He wanted it on right away!  I put it around his neck and we waited.  Then his little face became all forlorn…..  When we asked what was wrong he simply stated that “it didn’t turn me into Daphne…”  Apparently this necklace was supposed to be magic too.  I place all blame on Kohls!
I hope Santa brought you all of the magic that you asked for this year!
About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

