On death and dying

I lost my sister to Melanoma cancer in April of this year. My boys were very close to their Auntie Heidi and miss her a lot. We were fortunate in that they were able to say goodbye to her.

We have talked a lot since she died about how she is still with us. We are firm believers in ghosts, spirits, angels – whatever you want to call them. The boys know that they can always visit Auntie Heidi in their dreams.

Keegan (my youngest) crawled into bed with me in the wee small hours of the morning this morning. He was very upset. He told me he had to sneak into my bed because Auntie Heidi came to visit him and she had her “ghost face on again”. He told me that he asked her to take it off and she wouldn’t so he came to sleep with me. He said he missed seeing her regular face.

It made me want to just hold him and cry. I know that she comes to visit them a lot. Eli (my oldest) tells me about his dreams and visions all of the time. Eli tried to comfort Keegan this morning by telling him that it was just Auntie Heidi’s angel face and that she probably came to give him a hug. He’s so incredibly insightful and often knows just the right thing to say. Keegan still wasn’t buying it but did seem to feel a little better.

We are all surviving without Auntie Heidi. I’m glad we have each other to hold and the “ghost face” in the middle of the night to give us a hug.

Posted by Picasa
About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

