Seven

My dearest Keegan,

Today you turned 7.  It seems like only yesterday that you were being placed on my belly and I was straining to see if you were the little girl everyone thought were going to be.  You had your own April Fools joke to tell when you showed yourself to be the sweetest of little boys.  

You are the most sensitive of angels.  You refuse to watch a sad movie more than once.  Your feelings are hurt so easily.  You love all creatures.  Wicket is truly your best friend. You two rarely go anywhere without each other.  You hurt when others are sad or sick.  You try to make everyone feel happy.

Even at seven you are my snuggler.  You love to curl up with me on the couch under a blanket.  You prefer to sleep with a mommy whenever we go to the cabin.  You get upset if you miss a hug or kiss goodnight.  You still like to be sung to and have your hand rubbed to get you to fall asleep.  I think if the two of us could still fit in a rocking chair together you would still let me rock you to sleep.

Still, you haven’t quite found yourself.  You strive to be like your big brother.  You try to like the things he does, even the things we do.  But you haven’t quite found your happy place.  I long to see that happen for you.  You have an amazing smile and I love seeing it.  I just know when you find who you are I will see that smile so much more often.  

I have had the last seven plus years to get to know you and I have only barely scratched the surface.  I can’t wait to see what else lies beneath.  

I love you Keegan.  I hope today was the happiest birthday yet.

Love,

mommy <3

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seven

  1. Thekitchwitch says:

    Aww! Happy birthday to your sweet, snuggly Keegan!

  2. Elastamom says:

    Beautiful tribute to a wonderful 7-year-old!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

